San Marino MotoGP

15.09.2019 | Misano - Autodomo di Santamonica

Key Facts

Location: Western Europe, northeastern part of the Italian peninsula.

Area: 61 sq km (24 sq miles).

Population: 33,020 (2015).

Population Density: 541.3 per sq km.

Capital: San Marino.

Government: Republic.

Geography: San Marino is a tiny state bordered by the Italian regions of Emilia-Romagna to the north and east and Marche to the south and west. The landscape is for the most part green with rolling hills, dominated by the three peaks of Mount Titano. Within San Marino lie the capital of the same name and eight villages.

Language: Italian.

Religion: Roman Catholic.

Time: GMT + 1 (GMT + 2 from last Sunday in March to last Sunday in October).

Social Conventions: Normal European courtesies and codes of conduct should be observed.

Electricity: 230 volts AC, 50Hz. Italian-style plugs with three round pins in a row are used.

Head of Government: Secretary of State for Foreign and Political Affairs Pasquale Valentini since 2012.

Head of State: Two Capitani Regenti are elected every six months. Gian Nicola Berti and Massimo Andrea Ugolini since 2016.

Recent History: San Marino has been a full member of the Council of Europe since 1988, and chaired the organisation during the first half of 1990.

2001's election returned a centre-right coalition of Christian Democrats and Socialists.

close uses cookies to offer you the best possible service. If you continue browsing the site, you agree to the cookie usage.
Further information